The Anthony Baines Memorial Prize 2018

The Galpin Society confers the twentieth Anthony Baines Memorial Prize on

Arnold Myers

In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of organology and in particular as it concerns brasswind instruments. He initially obtained his doctorate at the University of Edinburgh for his thesis on acoustically-based techniques for the taxonomy of brass instruments. His association with this University continued with his appointment as the honorary curator of the Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments, later becoming the Collection's part-time Curator and Director. He was finally to become the first Professor of Organology at any UK university. Many undergraduate and postgraduate students have reason to be grateful for his erudite supervision of their studies. He has been the recipient of a number of prestigious awards including the American Musical Instrument Society's Curt Sachs Awards (2007), their Frances Densmore Prize (2014) and also the Historic Brass Society's Christopher Monk Award (2014). He has contributed articles to many organological publications including the Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments and the Journals of the Galpin Society, The American Musical Instrument Society and the Historic Brass Society. He has been a longstanding Vice-President of the Galpin Society and the Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale. He is currently Professor Emeritus of the University of Edinburgh and a research Fellow at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.